31st May 2018

Pictured are 6th Year Students of the Year Daniel Arnold and Maria Lohan receiving their award from Dr. Chambers.

1st year Gaelic Football Award winners from L-R Performance of the year recipient Leo Gately, Most improved player of the year Raymond Glennon and Matthew Shally

 Camogie Player of the Year Riesse Donlon (3rd year) being presented with her award by Dr. Chambers

Caoimhe Leonard (3rd year) pictured receiving the Junior Music Award from Dr. Chambers


George Stevens being presented with the award for Engineering Student of the Year by Dr. Chambers

Ina Van Opstal pictured receiving the Junior Art Award from Dr. Chambers

Jack Naughton (6th year) receiving his award for Senior Gaelic Footballer of the Year from Dr. Chambers


Junior Linguist of the year Award being presented to Eamon Lynch (2nd year) by Dr. Chambers. Absent from photograph is Senior Linguist of the year.


Ladies Gaelic Football Award recipients Tia Cronin (TY) and Caitlyn Connolly (2nd year)


Leadership Award recipients Amy Gallagher (1st year), Ellen Hynes (2nd year), Sinead Dillon (5th year) and Ciara Connolly (6th year).


Natasha Brady being presented by Dr. Chambers with the Role Model of the Year Award.


Norbert Papuga being presented with the award for Boys Volleyball Player of the Year.


Oisín Campbell (6th year) being presented by Dr. Chambers with the Construction Studies Award.


Pictured alongside Dr. Chambers are Junior Rugby Award winner Adam Donnelly (3rd year) and Senior Rugby Award winner Adam Finnerty (6th year).


Pictured are the recipients of the Academic Excellence Award from L-R Feidhlim O'Sullivan (2nd year), Eoin Conroy (1st year), Siobhan Derwin (5th Year) and Maria Lohan (6th Year)

Pictured are the recipients of the Class Contribution Award from L-R Liam Pearse (1st year), Cole Brady (6th year), Shane Donoghue (5th year) and Noah Fallon (2nd Year). Absent from photo Michael Lohan (3rd Year)


Pictured are the recipients of the male and female Chef's Hat Award Maks Andrijanovs and Alisha Kerr

Pictured is Dr. Chambers presenting 6th year student Ana Marques with the Science Excellence Award.


Pictured is Dr. Chambers presenting Florence Sweeney with the Learning for Life Student of the Year Award.


Pictured is Hurler of the Year Award recipient Patrick Kenny (6th year).


Pictured is Siobhan Treacy receiving the Handball Award from Dr. Chambers.


Receivers of the Good Citizenship Award from L-R Natasha Brady (6th year), Jamie Sheridan (1st year), Philip Hanley (3rd year) and Kirstin Cronin.


Senior Music Award winners Daniel Arnold and Natasha Brady (6th year).


Tia Fox (6th year) receiving the Senior Art Award from Dr. Chambers.


U15 Gaelic Football Award being presented to Feidhlim O'Sullivan (2nd year) by Dr. Chambers.



Volleyball award winners pictured alongside Dr. Chambers. From L-R Junior Player of the Year Siafra Finneran (1st year), Senior Player of the Year Roksana Ptak and Rachel Tarmey


24th May 2018

Roscommon Community College Juvenile and Junior Football teams had a Team bonding day at the Croghan Hill Challenge. They were put through their paces by Anthony Jinks. Well done to all who participated.

24th May 2018

Bhí lá iontach ag an gCoiste Gaelbhratach ar an 22ú Bealtaine nuair a bhronnadh an Gaelbhratach orthu ag céiliúradh speisialta i mBaile Átha Cliath.  Cúis ónóra don scoil a bhí ann agus táimid go léir an-bhródúil as an éacht ollmhór atá déanta acu.



RCC students Seán Egan, Molly Beckett, Shauna Clougher, Jack Mannion. Michael Staunton, Jack Cronin, Michael Lohan and Ben Finnerty at the presentation.



24th May 2018

Congratulations to our 6th year students on their graduation on Wednesday last in the Abbey Hotel. The staff at RCC wish each and every one of you the very best of luck in the upcoming exams and are in no doubt that your futures will be bright and full of prosperity. 




24th May 2018

As part of our school’s Erasmus KA1 + programme funded by the Erasmus + Programme of the EU , four teachers participated in an educational training programme in Helsinki in the first week of May. The theme of the course was 21st century classrooms with the emphasis on  “ Innovative Approaches to Teaching”. The training covered a practical guide to modern teaching methodologies which helps improve quality and effectivity of educational process in any classroom. The modules were designed to encourage creativity, project organisation, integration of minority pupils and the use of ICT as a tool for developing critical thinking. Teachers from seven different countries across Europe attended the training course which led to a multicultural exchange of teaching methods and ideas. The emphasis was “on learning by doing” and this was achieved through various collaborative and reflective activities. Some of the modules included inquiry based learning, using ICT skills for assessment, metacognition, involving teaching students to learn, and differentiated classes. For the final two days the course was conducted at the Vantaa Vocational College in Helsinki. This was a very impressive institution with many varied courses available to the students.


The four teachers who travelled to Finland were Ms. G. Martin (Maths Department), Ms. D Staunton (Business Department), Mr. C Mc Hugh (Business and Maths Department) and Ms. M. Concar (Maths / Science Department). All teachers found that the course helped them to enhance their skills and to use various innovative teaching methods that are learner- centred and also found it encouraged the solving of real-world tasks. Finland is renowned for its high educational standards and it was a wonderful opportunity for our teachers to experience this first hand. Many thanks to Ms. Carroll, Mr. Devaney and Dr. Chambers who were instrumental in organising this Erasmus programme.