24th February 2023

RCC 4-16 CBS B 0-08

Our Connacht championship began against our neighbours, the CBS who have entered a B team this year which can only be a good thing for the clubs in our county. We were quickest to settle with a long-range point from Rory Connolly and another well worked point from Luke Shally. This midfield paring took over in the middle sector and dominated from start to finish. Luke had a goal on 10 minutes, and it was almost 15 minutes in before the CBS had their first score. The remainder of the half was a real competitive fare with neither side willing to give an inch. The RCC backs were struggling to deal with the CBS number 11 and 14. The CBS scored 2 further points in succession. It took some strong carries from Marc Shally to turn the game back in our favour. He tacked over 2 points off either foot to extend RCC’s lead. The lead was further extended when Luke Shally scored his second goal after great build up play involving Cian Hayes, Lewis Smyth, and Daniel Hanmore.  This left the half time score, RCC 2-08 to Marist College 0-4.

Upon the resumption, RCC scored 2 goals and as many points by minute 40. A short kick out was intercepted by Tiago Lemos and he buried the ball in the net. More good work in midfield by Rory Connolly and Luke Shally set up Seanie Fannon for a point. This left RCC well ahead heading into the final quarter. Thomas Hanley came on and created the last score of the match, a well taken goal for Benji Feelihy.

This was a highly competitive affair with excellent Football from both teams. The RCC defence was under pressure all afternoon. Nathan Flynn was outstanding in goals with Aaron Connelly, Pierce Fannon and Jack Lally equally good. Rory Connolly and Luke Shally battled manfully in midfield while Marc Shally, Tiago Lemos and Sean Fannon were a constant thorn in the side for the CBS defence.

RCC Squad – Nathan Flynn, Aaron Connelly, William Staunton, Jack Lally, David Glancy, Pierce Fannon Cian Hayes, Rory Connolly, Luke Shally, Tiago Lemos, Marc Shally, Luke Hayes, Sean Fannon, Daniel Hanmore, Lewis Smyth, Tom Hanley, Tom Óg Reddington, Dan Monaghan, Ben Kilroe, Benji Feelihy, Adam Leonard, John Silva, Sean Óg O’Connor.